view cart menu separator categories menu separator faq
advanced search
categories  > New 8-Track Tapes (966)
Con Funk Shun - Con Funk Shun 7 1981 MERCURY Sealed A31 8-track tape
6 images
Con Funk Shun - Con Funk Shun 7 1981 MERCURY Sealed A31 8-track tape
Con Funk Shun - Con Funk Shun 7 1981 MERCURY Sealed A31 8-track tape
Con Funk Shun - Con Funk Shun 7 1981 MERCURY Sealed A31 8-track tape
Con Funk Shun - Con Funk Shun 7 1981 MERCURY Sealed A31 8-track tape

Con Funk Shun - Con Funk Shun 7 1981 MERCURY Sealed A31 8-track tape

Price: $19.99 currently not available     
Feedback: 100%, 1319 sales Ask seller a question
Shipping: USPS calculated click to check
Condition: Brand new
Payment with:
Con Funk Shun 7 is the eighth album by the Vallejo, California musical group Con Funk Shun. It was released in 1981 on the Mercury Records label.

Con Funk Shun is an American R&B and funk band popular in the 1970s and 1980s. Influences include James Brown and Sly & the Family Stone.

The band was formed by a pair of high school students in Vallejo, California, drummer Louis A. McCall Sr. and Lead singer/guitarist Michael Cooper. The two put together a group that included bassist Cedric Martin, keyboardist Danny "Sweet Man" Thomas, trumpeter Karl Fuller, and woodwinds player Paul "Maceo" Harrell. Soon thereafter, this fledgling group's classic lineup became complete when singer/multi-instrumentalist Felton Pilate came on board. The band got their start as a backup group for the Soul Children under the name Project Soul. They began working with Stax Records staff songwriters, and while recording at Audio Dimensions, a Memphis, Tennessee sound studio, producer Ted Sturges both named the group (after an instrumental recording by The Nite-Liters) and produced their first album, Organized Con Funk Shun.

In 1976, Con Funk Shun signed to Mercury Records, releasing 11 albums over a span of 10 years. The group's 1977 LP, Secrets, was certified gold in the US, as were 1978's Loveshine, 1979's Candy, and 1980's Spirit of Love. They scored a string of top ten hits on the US Billboard black singles chart, including 1977's "Ffun" (#1), 1978's "Shake and Dance with Me" (#5), 1979's "Chase Me" (#4), 1980s "Got to Be Enough" (#8), and "Too Tight" (#8). Tensions from within the group built over the 1980s, and the group's last album, Burning Love, was recorded without songwriter and vocalist Felton Pilate. After leaving Mercury, the band broke up in 1986, but some members of the group reunited alongside touring musicians for concerts in the 1990s.

In 1994, Eric "EQ" Young joined Con Funk Shun. Young, a bass player, is a native of the San Francisco Bay Area and a veteran of the stage and a former Quincy Jones recording artist who has played for Con-Funk-Shun for the past 16 years. Other alliances include the Dazz Band and Radiance. Young has toured the US extensively and worked abroad for more than 20 years and recently traveled to Iraq to play for our troops. “I was born to do this," said Young. His television credits include HBO, "Soul Train," "Motown Live & Sinbad." He’s also been featured in Japan’s "Bass Magazine" along with idols Larry Graham and Stanley Clark.

In May 2008, ConFunkShun celebrated 35 years together with a special anniversary cruise with many of their biggest fans.

Retrieved from

Because this tape is vintage sealed new and we cannot inspect for play-ability, please be aware we offer no warranty or guarantees on how well this tape will perform once it is opened and removed from the cellophane package. Because this sealed new 8-track tape is very old, the foam pad and glue on the foil splice most often has a tendency to deteriorate over many years of time. Always inspect and replace if necessary those items before playing any sealed new 8-track tape, or damage to the tape and player may occur.

If you would like this new sealed tape gently opened and inspected for play-ability with a new pad and foil splice added, please go to "New 8-track tape repair" in the New 8-track tape category and we will gladly perform the work for you. Please be sure to select the number of repairs needed for the amount of sealed tapes you are purchasing.
Other Products from 8tracksrback:View all products
Steely Dan - Can't Buy A Thrill 8-track tape
The Electric Horseman - Music From The Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Sealed 8-track tape
Ten Years After - Their Greatest Hits 1975 DERAM Sealed A16 8-TRACK TAPE
Roy Clark - The Best Of Roy Clark 1971 GRT DOT Quadraphonic A45 8-TRACK TAPE
Chicago - Chicago III 1971 CBS A28 8-TRACK TAPE
Herb Alpert - Rise Cassette Tape
The Mamas & The Papas - Farewell To The First Golden Era Ampex 8-track tape
Taka Boom - Taka Boom 1979 Debut ARIOLA A29 8-track tape
Queen - Flash Gordon Original Music Soundtrack 1980 ELEKTRA A21B 8-TRACK TAPE
Moody Blues - Days Of Future Passed 1967 AMPEX DERAM A33 8-TRACK TAPE
Last Updated: 16 Dec 2017 02:57:23 PST home  |  about  |  terms  |  contact
Powered by eCRATER - a free online store builder