view cart menu separator categories menu separator faq
advanced search
categories  > READY TO PLAY USED 8-Track Tapes (2461)
Journey - Departure 1980 CBS A29A 8-TRACK TAPE
5 images
Journey - Departure 1980 CBS A29A 8-TRACK TAPE
Journey - Departure 1980 CBS A29A 8-TRACK TAPE
Journey - Departure 1980 CBS A29A 8-TRACK TAPE
Journey - Departure 1980 CBS A29A 8-TRACK TAPE

Journey - Departure 1980 CBS A29A 8-TRACK TAPE

Price: $14.99 add to cart     
Feedback: 100%, 2361 sales Ask seller a question
Shipping: USPS calculated click to check
Condition: Used
Returns: 7 days, buyer pays return shipping (more)
Payment with:
Departure is the sixth studio album by American rock band Journey. It was released on March 23 1980 by Columbia Records.

Departure is Journey's highest charting album to date, giving them their first appearance in the top 10 of the Billboard 200 album charts, peaking at No. 8. The album includes "Any Way You Want It", the lead off track and top 25 single.

The album featured an edgier sound, thanks partly to the "live in studio" way the songs were recorded. The band went into The Automatt studio with 19 tracks, eventually trimming down to 12.

Departure would mark the last full-time studio album appearance of founding member Gregg Rolie, and his penultimate recording with the band: his final contributions would appear on Dream, After Dream, a soundtrack album to the Japanese film of the same name, which would also be released in 1980. Rolie had become tired of life on the road and decided to leave the band after assisting in the selection of his replacement, Jonathan Cain, then of The Babys. Rolie sang lead vocals on only one song on Departure, the ballad "Someday Soon".

In 1986, Columbia reissued Departure on compact disc in the U.S. and Europe. They subsequently remastered the album in 1996. BMG/Columbia remastered Departure again in 2006 for European, Japanese and American listeners, adding bonus tracks 13 "Natural Thing" and 14 "Little Girl". Dave Donnelly at DNA Mastering in New York City led the 2006 project.

Journey is an American rock band formed in 1973 in San Francisco by former members of Santana and Frumious Bandersnatch. The band has gone through several phases; its strongest commercial success occurred between 1978 and 1987, after which it temporarily disbanded. During that period, the band released a series of hit songs, including 1981's "Don't Stop Believin'", the top-selling catalog track in iTunes history. Its parent studio album, Escape, the band's eighth and most successful, reached #1 on the Billboard 200 and yielded another of their most popular singles, "Open Arms". Its 1983 follow-up, Frontiers, was almost as successful in the United States, reaching #2 and spawning several successful singles; it broadened the band's appeal in the United Kingdom, where it reached #6 on the UK Albums Chart. Journey enjoyed a successful reunion in the mid 1990s, and later regrouped with a series of lead singers.

Sales have resulted in two gold albums, eight multi-platinum albums, and one diamond album (including seven consecutive multi-platinum albums between 1978 and 1987). They have had eighteen Top 40 singles in the US, six of which reached the Top 10 of the US Billboard Hot 100 chart and two of which reached #1 on other Billboard charts, and a #6 hit on the UK Singles Chart in "Don't Stop Believin'". Originally a progressive rock band, Journey were described by Allmusic as having cemented a reputation as "one of America's most beloved (and sometimes hated) commercial rock/pop bands" by 1978, when they redefined their sound by embracing traditional pop arrangements on their fourth album, Infinity. According to the Recording Industry Association of America, Journey has sold 47 million albums in the US, making them the 28th best selling band. Their worldwide sales have reached over 80 million albums. A 2005 USA Today opinion poll named Journey the fifth best American rock band in history. Their songs have become arena rock staples and are still played on rock radio stations across the world.

Retrieved from

Comes with foil splice, pad and a 7-day money back guarantee.
Other Products from 8tracksrback:View all products
Dwight Yoakam - Guitars, Cadillacs, Etc. 1986 Debut RCA REPRISE Sealed T11 8-TRACK TAPE
The Beach Boys - Beach Boys Concert  1964 LEAR AMPEX CAPITOL T10 8-TRACK TAPE
The Who - Who's Next 1971 Pre-UPC RARE Cassette Tape
Aerosmith - Aerosmith 1973 Debut CBS A1 8-TRACK TAPE
Ronnie Milsap - Out Where The Bright Lights Are Glowing RCA Sealed 8-track tape
Frankie Valli - Frankie Valli Is The Word 1978 WB A26 8-TRACK TAPE
Harry Chapin - Greatest Stories LIVE Cassette Tape
John Conlee - John Conlee's Greatest Hits Vol 2 1985 RCA Sealed A18F 8-TRACK TAPE
The Baja Marimba Band - The Baja Marimba Band 1964 Debut ITCC A&M A18E 8-TRACK TAPE
Van Dyke Parks - Clang Of The Yankee Reaper Cassette Tape
Last Updated: 21 Sep 2023 16:10:31 PDT home  |  about  |  terms  |  contact
Powered by eCRATER - a free online store builder